Chillies


chilli, chili[ˈtʃɪlɪ]
n
plchillies, chilies
(Cookery) the small red hot-tasting pod of a type of capsicum used for flavouring sauces, pickles, etc.
[from Spanish chile, from Nahuatl chilli]

Sauce

Since I was young I can remember growing chillies. I have used chillies in sauces in the kitchen, made preserves, dried them and reused seeds to grow new plants. I have been thinking alot about what to grow as a crop that will make a few bucks on the side. Its been suggested to grow artichokes, strawberries and recently chillies. I already have bell peppers going, a royal black chile plant, and various chilli seedlings on the go. They regrow each year, and I think could be quite viable as a cash crop. They are also very versitle as a crop and can be used in many applications, foods or stored for later use.

Chillies contain high amounts of Vitamin C, boost metabolism and help with blood circulation.
They only need warm climates and battle under temperatures of 13 degrees celicius. They also quite hardy plants, not requiring huge amounts of water, but flourish in damp well drained soil. The chemical composition of chillies tend to ward off most pests, so also good for companion planting I suppose.

I have been trying to research chillie strains and come across a database website of over 3000 listed chillies. Also found a great website with more information on chillies, growing, harvesting, recipes, FAQ, pepper types and much more, Chili Pepper Madness.

I have started a few more seeds as of Sunday and will hopefully have a bumper crop of chillies in the next couple months. I have already started harvesting the chillies found on the farm, documented and labelled harvested seeds for the next season.

2 comments
  1. Michael Fortescue said:

    Chris, this is amazing and I can’t wait to come and stay. Well done bud.

  2. Forgot to give you that chili/plant this morning. Next time. I’m sure chilies clear sinuses too, although I haven’t seen any confirmation of this. They certainly make one blow one’s nose.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

