Trumpeter Hornbill


Late in the afternoon a flock of Trumpeter Hornbills arrive and land in the pine trees that line some of the fencing. They seem to feed off the pine cones and make a raquet. They are quite inqusitive birds and will hopefully get a better picture.

The Trumpeter Hornbill (Bycanistes bucinator) is a medium-sized hornbill,with length between 58 to 65 cm,characterized by a large grey casque on the bill,smaller in females. The eyes are brown or red,with pink surrounding skin. They are similar to Silvery-cheeked Hornbill. Distinguishing features include an all-black back,white belly and white underwing coverts (in flight,wings present white tips),and red facial skin

2 thoughts on “Trumpeter Hornbill

  1. Yay! I’ve discovered your blog. My daughter Carla is also on wordpress. Now I’m going to try to click the “email notification” box, so I never miss any. I’ll call you if I have difficulty. Love this Hornbill info.

  2. (Got it!!!) (Interesting to see the Stats section too. I must look closer at Carla’s blog – Matt told me about it, but I thought it was only for her to see.)

Comments are closed.