Potjie recipe: Easy as pie.


What a lovely day yesterday, some light showers, some magical rays of sunlight. I was also brought some fresh eggs from next door, and 2 litres of milk that was still warm. After starting the potjie at about 2:00pm, and guests only arriving around 4:00pm, I did this as we as South Africans generally know how potjie’s go, started late, lots of drinking and only eat when everyone is ready to go home. This potjie was different. My only mistake was starting to drink Blue Top when i started the potjie, but is an important ingredient.

I collected the leg of lamb from our local butchery, which is very popular for their great meat. Stupidly I joked when I walked in and said is my leg ready. The butcher pulled out a full leg, which would probably not have even fit in the backseat of my car. It was recut, and put into a shopping bag. I thought of sharing the recipe and it really is as easy as pie to make.

1 leg of lamb
Handful of rosemary
1 tablespoon of olive oil
Handful of Thyme
3 sliced onions
1 litre of Old Brown Sherry
Potjie Vegetable mix ( saved me time chopping and dicing )
Also added extra small potatoes
Garlic and seasoning to taste.
I made the potjie next to the fire on the floor around some bricks and just kept on adding hot coals under it. That is the secret, just to keep it hot, no flames needed. Add the oil when the pot is warm. Then add the onions to brown. Brown the leg of lamb on both sides, add the litre of sherry, add the vegetables, probably potatoes first. add seasoning, let it go for about 4 hours. We should have let it go for another hour so, but it was still perfect and even better the next day.

3 comments
  1. Whew! So glad there are photos. I was kicking myself for not taking any. It was YUMMY – the only ingredient I shall leave out is the Blue Top!

  2. (PS is it possible to get them added to the Album on my page, courtesy of the photographer of course…?)

  3. i was trying to do that aswell, and i dont think there is a way, you can just link the pictures you want, but not integrate them into your album. You gotta love technology, they say it makes our lives easier!!!

Leave a Reply

