Natural Tic and Flea Spray for Dogs


Been offline for awhile, almost through the whole of winter. Lots of updates coming. A fair amount of progress on the old farmhouse and lots of progress on the land.

 

My dogs have been fairly clean through winter, but recently had a nasty attack of fleas. Tic season is almost around the corner. So I want to try and get them ready with healthy coats and a strong immune system and recipe to help repel these nasties.. If you google  natural flea repellent, there are hundreds of listings of natural and harmless that you can prepare in your kitchen for your dog.

I chose to mix two ingredients that seemed good for them, rosemary and lemons.  I currently have a large amount of both. Below are the instructions and details of what you need:

What you will need:

  • 2 lemons
  • handful of rosemary
  • pot and lid
  • sieve or strainer
  • spray bottle or bowl

    Bring about 1 litre of water to boil on your stove.Strip the rosemary from the stems and slice the lemon into pieces. Place these ingredients into the boiling water and boil with the lid on for about 10 minutes. Turn the heat from the stove off, and allow the water to steep until cool. Once cool, sieve the natural repellent into a spray bottle or another pot.

You can spray your dogs and let the repellent to dry on the dog. Spray around the dogs kennels and baskets, also spraying the corners of the rooms in your house. I think a couple sprays each day over 5 days should make an uncomfortable place for tics and fleas.
I am on day 2 and have not seen the benefits of this. But I am sure it will work and rid the dogs of any pests. This comes with no warranty. I will post feedback when i see a difference.

 

 

 

2 comments
  1. Troops of monkeys have been eating my lemons (since they’ve eaten ALL my other fruit) but I still have some left, and lots of rosemary. I reckon I’ll try some of that recipe tomorrow. Nice to see the Rambler again.

Leave a Reply

