WWOOF is short for Willing Workers On Organic Farms a movement that started in England the 1970’s as Weekend Work On Organic Farms, giving organic farmer a much-needed helping hand to be competitive with conventional production. Today WWOOFing focuses more and more on cultural exchange while working as a volunteer on farms with an organic approach to life and production.

wwoofIt’s an Exchange of Work for Food and Accommodation. Duration is from min. 2 weeks to 2-3 months, all year round.

Interested in WWOOF-ing?
WWOOF work ranges from hard work like fieldwork, building & renovation, hiking trail maintenance, chopping wood, as well as light stuff like cleaning of guest cottages, helping in the kitchen and gardening etc.Where possible we all work together in a team, however WWOOFers should to be able to work on their own and be comfortable with the remoteness of the farm.


Working hours?
Roughly 6 hours and per day 5-6 days a week, so there’s time for you to meditate, read, study and explore the farm as well. We all help with the preparation of the meals and eat together.

Am I suited?
Ideal persons are outdoorsy type aged 24+ with hands-on and some practical experience would be a bonus. Vegetarians can be catered for. WWOOF accommodation is a spacious caravan or safari tent, depending on availability. We take between 1-4 WWOOFers at a time, so far they have come from all over the globe: UK, France, Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, Spain, Germany, Switzerland, Canada, USA and local South Africans.

What do I bring?
Plenty of humor and enthusiasm and standard backpacking gear e.g. Backpack (for working on the trails) Sleeping bag, hiking boots, some light shoes too, an overall or other working clothes, sun protection, cool and warm clothing; nights in winter can drop below 0°, summer days can reach 40°. And of course you’ll need a valid tourist visa for South Africa and appropriate travel and health insurance.

Wwoof South Africa Facebook Page

 

wwooffooter

2 comments
  1. Lyndell McDonald said:

    Good day, please can you send me more information about hosting? My husband and I just purchased a farm in Langkloof Valley, George, Western Cape. We could do with help with aquaponics, animals, building, self catering and more importantly to learn. We will be doing 100%organic and permaculture.

    My email is lschoonraad4@Gmail. com.

    Kind regards
    Lyndell Mcdonald
    0785639963

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: